Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training (ACCET)

Established in 1974, the Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training (ACCET) is a national accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education (DOE). ACCET is an independent, non-profit organization which monitors, evaluates, and accredits higher education institutions.

The International Organization for Standardization awarded ACCET the designation of ISO 9001 Quality Management System; it was the first national accrediting agency to achieve this designation.

ACCET accredited organizations and institutions which provide corporate training, vocational programs, and other kinds of non collegiate continuing education. Many ACCET-accredited institutions offer distance training programs, which provide instruction to students at locations other than the institution’s headquarters.

Accreditation Eligibility

An institution must fulfill several criteria before becoming eligible for ACCET accreditation. The institution must have clearly-defined programs, methodology, and learning outcomes. It must be officially recognized and licensed by the state, and must operate successfully for at least two years after submitting its accreditation application. Also, an institution whose accreditation status has been revoked may not reapply for at least one year.

Before submitting the accreditation application, the institution must have been under the same ownership for at least two years. The institution must assign a “correspondent time function” (such as credit hours or units) to its programs, and must offer certificates, diplomas, or degrees up to (but not exceeding) the level of an Associate’s degree.

The institution must have sufficient financial resources to ensure quality operations, must demonstrate responsible management of those resources for 2 years or more, and must comply with all Standards of Accreditation, Principles of Ethics, and Bylaws as defined by ACCET.

ACCET accredited trade and professional associations, corporate training departments, private career schools, intensive English programs, labor union training programs, religious organizations and ethical societies, public affairs societies, and volunteer organizations.

ACCET Accredited Schools and Colleges

A list of all ACCET-accredited institutions can be found at This list is also published in the CHEA Almanac of External Quality Review, as well as in the American Council on Education’s Accredited Institutions of Postsecondary Education Directory.

See also:
Accreditation in Higher Education

Regional Accreditors:
Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)
New England Association of Schools and Colleges Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (NEASC-CIHE)
North Central Association of Colleges and Schools The Higher Learning Commission (NCA-HLC)
Northwest Commission on Colleges & Universities (NWCCU)
Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) Commission on Colleges

National Accreditors
Distance Education and Training Council (DETC)
Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools (ACICS)
Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC)
Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training (ACCET)
Council on Occupational Education (COE)

Similar Posts:

Leave a Comment